为什么 VPN 不好

2021 年 11 月 16 日

  1. 撇开所有优点不谈,它毕竟是一个好的匿名化工具吗?
  2. 为什么 VPN 不好?
  3. 如何隐藏我的数字指纹?

撇开所有优点不谈,它毕竟是一个好的匿名化工具吗?

这可能完全出乎意料,但是您知道 VPN 是匿名问题中最不可靠的工具之一吗?我们已经解释了 VPN 的工作原理,并且 它隐藏了什么 ,我们还比较了技术 代理服务器和反检测浏览器 。所以,让我们直奔主题并阐述为什么使用 VPN 是个坏主意。

根据记录,没有 VPN 是最终无用的技术。它可以帮助我们访问在我们国家无缘无故被禁止的网站,并在使用公共 WiFi 时保护我们的连接。它确实做了很多好事。但还有什么? 嗯,没有别的。不,它不仅仅涉及免费的 VPN 服务——几乎所有的 VPN,即使是昂贵的 VPN,与匿名几乎没有任何关系。

我们在之前的文章中已经提到了 VPN 不要 欺骗你的数字指纹。现在我们将仔细看看即使是一个好的 VPN 也可能根本无法隐藏的东西,以及为什么你最终会有被发现的风险。

为什么 VPN 不好?

vpn is bad

网站收集和解析地理定位以外的大量数据。这不仅仅是你的位置,还有很多其他不同的东西。最坏的情况:他们可能会公布关于你的 PC 的几乎所有内容,包括它的操作系统,甚至硬件。在这方面,许多 VPN 没有隐瞒的少数事情之一是 HTML5 画布元素,例如,当您访问网站时,它会呈现 2D 形状。

问题在于,不同的操作系统和显卡以它们的特定方式执行此操作,许多网站可以在您不考虑的情况下收集此类数据。您可能已经猜到了——这就是许多网站可能会假设您可能拥有什么操作系统甚至视频卡。

VPN 服务未能隐藏的另一件事是 WebGL 元数据(Web 图形库),这是一种用于渲染交互式 2D 和 3D 图形的 JavaScript API。与 Canvas 一样,这项技术可帮助网站了解您的操作系统和硬件。当刚拥有您的画布哈希,网站只能将您的数据与其他用户并列并猜测(尽管有很高的确定性)您正在使用哪种类型的 PC。用一些关于 WebGL 数据的附加信息来添加它使他们几乎可以确定是什么您拥有的设备。

此数据与用户代理(一种被许多网络浏览器利用的软件代理)相结合,可以详尽了解您当前使用的网络浏览器,并最终 100% 清楚您的操作系统是什么是的。同样,不同的硬件以不同的方式处理所有事情,因此您的用户代理将包含另一条信息,这些信息可能更接近您的真实个性。

"好吧,假设他们发现我使用的是 Windows 10 并且正在使用谷歌浏览器,那又怎样?有多少像我这样的人?根据 StatCounter,大概有 50%互联网用户?哈哈,祝你好运在他们中间找到我!此外,我可以很容易地掩盖我的用户代理。确实重要的两件事是 流量加密 好吧,假设他们发现我使用的是 Windows 10 并且正在使用谷歌浏览器,那又怎样?有多少像我这样的人?根据 StatCounter,大概有 50%互联网用户?哈哈,祝你好运在他们中间找到我!此外,我可以很容易地掩盖我的用户代理。确实重要的两件事是 位置。 一个好的 VPN 可以很好地处理这个问题。期间!"

足够了。当然,你可以伪造一个用户代理。是的。问题是,网站用来了解你的技术有很多,而不仅仅是画布、WebGL 和用户-agent,还有一个问题,就算你恶搞几样,也要保证你的数字指纹足够一致,什么意思?

想象一下,你已经设法伪造了你的 MacBook Air M1 的屏幕尺寸、WebGL 供应商(一家主要提供显卡的公司)和 RAM。如果你不够谨慎,比如说,把你的 RAM 做成了 4 GB,WebGL Vendor Google,屏幕尺寸 7680 x 4320,大功告成。为什么?因为这样的 MacBook 不存在。

这里即使是一个错误也绰绰有余——谷歌不为苹果提供显卡。所以在你自己欺骗任何东西之前,确保每一个配置和参数都相互关联。否则,你什么都不做,只是创造了一个不存在的设备,并立即将很多不必要的注意力吸引到自己身上。

"好的,我知道了。但我不需要改变一切。我很好,我不在乎有人知道我有什么 PC。"

不过,这不仅仅是你的电脑。假设你是越南人,使用 VPN。你选择了美国。好吧,太好了!现在每个人都认为你在美国。但你忘记了更改您的语言偏好和系统时区。现在有多少越南人使用越南时区和语言偏好穿越美国?嗯,可能几乎没有。

这两个你在选择另一个位置时没有在意的小细节很容易把你引到你身边。对于你的信息,这不仅仅是你的语言偏好和时区。还有一些其他的解决方法可以让你了解你的位置. 有时它甚至可能是在当地维修店安装的新硬件。知道你是越南人,坐在新的 MacBook Pro 前并在 Mozilla Firefox 中浏览互联网将搜索减少到 0.01% 左右(可能要少得多)世界人口。

"好吧,假设它是真的,但这是一个简单的案例。即使在 macOS 上使用 Mozilla Firefox,也不知道他们是越南人(总共大约 1 亿人)。但如果我的语言偏好是英语怎么办(超过 10 亿人,至少有 7 或 8 个国家/地区将其作为官方语言),我的操作系统是 Windows 10,我的网络浏览器是谷歌 Chrome?它至少会占世界人口的 5% !在几个国家大约有 4 亿人。不可能全部检查。此外,即使是 0.01% 仍然会很多!"

也是如此。但请记住,到目前为止,我们在本文中只讨论了一些内容。当您打开网页时,网站会使用更多的东西来揭示您的真实个性。而且他们提供的信息越多有,他们离你越近。

没有必要在这里撒谎。特定的 PC 型号、国家/地区和时区很多,但不足以准确找到您。这就是为什么当您只想更改位置时 VPN 服务派上用场的原因,例如,访问一个娱乐网站。甚至看 Netflix。很好。他们不在乎——事实上,他们甚至很高兴你这样做并最终订阅了。

但是如果你想工作或检索一些关于某事的秘密信息怎么办?在这一点上,你这样做不是为了那些公司的利益,而是走进那些知道什么的大人物的领域真正的安全是。

亚马逊、谷歌、Facebook、YouTube、Instagram、百度、博彩公司、政府机构和许多其他公司不仅会跟踪您的位置并透露有关您设备的所有详细信息。据称科技巨头还分析您的行为、习惯, 和兴趣。他们不仅在互联网上而且在许多应用程序和平台上监视你,收集所有信息。

尽管良好的 VPN 加密可以防止网站跟踪标题和 cookie,但仍然有一些东西可以帮助网站了解它是你的,例如内容首选项、密码,甚至你点击的方式。就他们自己而言,他们什么都不做。但结合有关您的数字指纹的信息,它大大简化了找到您的工作。

信不信由你,即使是学习网络安全的大学生也可以使用最好的 VPN 服务将搜索量减少到总人口的 1%。想象一下科技公司可以做什么。但你知道什么是使用 VPN 最有趣的事情是什么?很多时候它甚至无法欺骗您的确切位置。

在许多网络浏览器中默认激活的 WebRTC(网络实时通信)技术允许第三方直接获取您的真实地址,尽管您使用的是 VPN。您应该使用非常好的 VPN 来处理该问题。但同样,即使在这种情况下,仍然需要关注许多其他事情——信息泄露得越多,您完全被发现的可能性就越大。

信誉良好的 VPN 确实会加密您的流量并隐藏您的位置,但它们从未充分掩盖您的设备指纹,这与行为因素一起很容易揭示您的真实个性。这只是时间和收集数据量的问题不够谨慎,没有躲起来。

如何隐藏我的数字指纹?

欺骗数字身份不仅仅是多账户极客的心血来潮——这对于那些寻求绝对匿名的人来说也是必须的。VPN 不擅长处理这个问题,因为它只处理你的位置并加密你的流量。为了实现最大的、真正的匿名性,你必须掩盖你数字身份的每一个细节。到目前为止,唯一能做到的就是 反检测浏览器.

我们很乐意听取您的问题、意见和建议。联系我们 support@gologin.com 或在下方留言。

您是刚开始使用 GoLogin 吗?忘记帐户暂停或终止。选择任何一个星期三平台并轻松管理多个帐户。单击 这里 开始使用所有 GoLogin 功能

Why a VPN Is Bad

16 Nov 2021

  1. All the pros aside, is it a good anonymization tool, after all?
  2. Why Are VPNs Bad?
  3. How Can I Hide My Digital Fingerprint?

All the pros aside, is it a good anonymization tool, after all?

It might come as a complete surprise, but do you know a VPN is one of the most unreliable tools in the matter of anonymity? We have already explained how a VPN works and what it hides , and we also compared the technology to proxy servers and anti-detect browsers . So, let’s get straight to the point and expound on why using a VPN is a bad idea.

For the record, no VPN is an ultimately useless technology. It helps us access websites banned in our countries for no reason and secures our connection when using public WiFi. It certainly does a bunch of good things. But what else? Well, nothing else. And no, it doesn’t concern only free VPN services — just about any VPNs, even expensive ones, have very little to nothing to do with anonymity.

We’ve already mentioned in our previous articles that VPNs do not spoof your digital fingerprint. Now we’re going to have a closer look at what even a good VPN may not hide at all and why you risk getting uncovered in the very end.

Why Are VPNs Bad?

Websites collect and parse a lot of data outside of geolocation stuff. It’s never just your location but plenty of other different things. Worst-case scenario: they might unveil just about everything about your PC, including its OS and even hardware. One of the few things many VPNs don’t conceal in this regard is the HTML5 canvas element that, for instance, renders 2D shapes when you’re visiting a website.

The thing is that different operating systems and video cards do that in their specific ways, and many websites can collect this kind of data without having you even think about it. You’ve probably guessed it — that’s how many websites may presume what operating system and even a video card you might have.

Another thing that VPN services fail to hide is WebGL metadata (Web Graphics Library), a JavaScript API used for rendering interactive 2D and 3D graphics. Like Canvas, this technology helps websites learn your OS and hardware. When having just your canvas hash, a website can merely juxtapose your data to other users and guess (although with a high percentage of certainty) what kind of PC you’re using. Spicing it up with some additional info about WebGL data makes them almost sure about what device you have.

This data, combined with the user-agent (a kind of software agent exploited by many web browsers), gives an exhaustive insight into what web browser you’re currently using and finally makes it 100% clear what your OS is. Again, different hardwares process everything differently, so your user-agent will be containing another bit of information that may get closer to your real personality.

"Alright, let’s say they’ve figured out I’m on Windows 10 and am using Google Chrome, so what? How many people like me are there? Based on StatCounter, it’s, like, 50% out of all the Internet users? Lol, good luck finding me among them all! Besides, I can easily cover up my user-agent. The two things that do indeed matter are traffic encryption Alright, let’s say they’ve figured out I’m on Windows 10 and am using Google Chrome, so what? How many people like me are there? Based on StatCounter, it’s, like, 50% out of all the Internet users? Lol, good luck finding me among them all! Besides, I can easily cover up my user-agent. The two things that do indeed matter are location. And a good VPN deals with that pretty well. Period!"

Fair enough. And you can, of course, fake up a user-agent. True. The problem is, there are dozens of technologies websites use to get to know you, not just the canvas, WebGL, and user-agent. Another problem is that even if you spoof a few things, you must be sure your digital fingerprint is consistent enough. What does it mean?

Imagine you’ve managed to falsify your screen size, WebGL vendor (a company that basically supplies video cards), and RAM on your MacBook Air M1. If you were not cautious enough and, say, made your RAM 4 GB, WebGL Vendor Google, and screen size 7680 x 4320, you’re done. Why? Because such MacBooks do not exist.

Even one mistake is more than enough here — Google doesn’t supply Apple with video cards. So before you run to spoof anything on your own, make sure that every single configuration and parameter correlates with one another. Otherwise, you do nothing but create a device that doesn’t exist and instantly draw a lot of unwanted attention to yourself.

"Okay, I got it. But I don’t need to change everything. Fine by me, I don’t care if somebody knows what PC I have."

It’s not just your PC, though. Let’s imagine you’re Vietnamese using a VPN. You’ve selected the US. Okay, great! Now everyone thinks you’re in the US. But you’ve forgotten to change your language preferences and system timezone. How many Vietnamese are there now traveling across the US with the Vietnamese timezone and language preferences? Well, probably almost none.

These two little details you didn’t bother about when choosing another location may easily lead to you. For your information, it’s not only your language preferences and timezone. There are some other workarounds through which one may learn your location. Sometimes it might be even a piece of new hardware installed at a local repair shop. Knowing that you’re Vietnamese sitting in front of a new MacBook Pro and browsing the Internet in Mozilla Firefox cuts the search down to around 0,01% (probably much less) of the world population.

"Okay, suppose it’s true, but this is an easy case. Even using Mozilla Firefox on macOS tells a lot without knowing they are Vietnamese (around 100 mln people in total). But what if my language preference is English (over 1 bln people, at least 7 or 8 countries having it as an official language), my OS is Windows 10, and my web browser is Google Chrome? It’s going to be, at least, like, 5% out of the world population! That’s about 400 mln people in a few countries. It’s impossible to check them all. Besides, even 0,01% is still going to be a lot!"

Also true. But keep in mind that we’ve so far discussed just a few things in this article. There is much more stuff websites use to uncover your real personality when you open their pages. And the more information they have, the closer they are to you.

No need to lie here. A particular PC model, country, and timezone is a lot, but not enough to find exactly you. That’s why VPN services come in handy when you just want to change your location to, say, access an entertainment website. Even to watch Netflix. Fine. They don’t care — in fact, they are even happy you did that and finally subscribed.

But what if you want to work or retrieve some secret information about something? At this point, you’re not doing this in the interests of those companies and are walking into the territory of big shots that do know well what real security is.

Amazon, Google, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, Baidu, betting companies, governmental institutions, and many others do not only track your location and reveal all the details about your device. Tech giants also allegedly analyze your behavior, habits, and interests. And they watch you across not just the Internet but many apps and platforms, mustering all the information.

Although good VPNs’ encryption prevents websites from tracking headers and cookies, there are still things that might help websites understand it’s you regardless, such as content preferences, passwords, and even the way you click. On their own, they do nothing. But combined with the information about your digital fingerprint, it significantly simplifies the job of finding you.

Believe it or not, even a college student studying cybersecurity is able to cut the search right down to 1% of the population with you using the best VPN service. Just imagine what tech companies can do. But you know what’s the funniest thing about using a VPN? Quite often it even fails to spoof your exact location.

The WebRTC (Web Real-Time Communication) technology activated by default in many web browsers allows third parties to straight away get your real address despite you using a VPN. You should use a really good VPN to handle that issue. But again, even in this case you still have to keep an eye on many other things — the more information gets leaked, the higher the chance you may get completely uncovered.

Reputable VPNs do indeed encrypt your traffic and hide your location, but they never mask your device fingerprint sufficiently, which along with behavioral factors may easily uncover your real personality. It’s merely a matter of time and amount of data collected you were not cautious enough to hide.

How Can I Hide My Digital Fingerprint?

Spoofing a digital identity isn’t just a whim of multi-accounting geeks — it’s a must for those seeking absolute anonymity as well. A VPN is bad at handling that since it only takes care of your location and encrypts your traffic. To achieve maximum, real anonymity, you have to cover up every single detail of your digital identity. And so far, the only thing that does it is an anti-detect browser.

We’d love to hear questions, comments and suggestions from you. Contact us support@gologin.com or leave a comment below.

Are you just starting out with GoLogin? Forget about account suspension or termination. Choose any wed platform and manage multiple accounts easily. Click here to start using all GoLogin features